NHL All-Star Game format, rosters

From the official NHL release.

  • The All-Star Game will feature a 3-on-3 All-Star tournament.

  • The new format will divide the All-Star Game into three 20-minute games, with star players from each division making up the four All-Star teams: Pacific, Central, Atlantic, and Metropolitan.

  • Players are facing off for a winner-take-all $1 million prize.

  • Each game will be 20 minutes in length. Teams will change ends at the 10-minute mark of each game. Games that are tied after 20 minutes will be decided by a shootout.

  • The Eastern Conference won the skills competition and elected to play the first game. Accordingly, the Atlantic Division All-Stars (wearing black) will face the Metropolitan Division All-Stars (wearing white) in the first of the two semifinal games, followed by Central Division All-Stars (wearing black) against the Pacific Division All-Stars (wearing white) in the second semifinal.

  • The winner of each semifinal will face off in the final.

  • All NHL rules apply to each game.

  • There will be a hard whistle at the 10-minute mark of each game. At this time, teams and goalies will change ends.

  • Video review will be used to confirm all goals. NHL hockey operations will initiate any potential coach’s challenge reviews.

  • All minor penalties will be one minute in length. Manpower advantages during these penalties will reflect current NHL rules, where at no time will a team have fewer than three players on the ice — this may require a fourth and/or fifth skater to be added.


Atlantic Division

F Patrice Bergeron (BOS)

F Jaromir Jagr (FLA)

F Leo Komarov (TOR)

F Dylan Larkin (DET)

F Ryan O’Reilly (BUF)

F Steven Stamkos (TBL)

D Aaron Ekblad (FLA)

D Erik Karlsson (OTT)

D P.K. Subban (MTL)

G Ben Bishop (TBL)

G Roberto Luongo (FLA)

Captain: Jaromir Jagr

Head Coach: Gerard Gallant (FLA)

Metropolitan Division

F Nicklas Backstrom (WSH)

F Claude Giroux (PHI)

F Evgeni Malkin (PIT)

F Evgeny Kuznetsov (WSH)

F Brandon Saad (CBJ)

F John Tavares (NYI)

D Justin Faulk (CAR)

D Kris Letang (PIT)

D Ryan McDonagh (NYR)

G Braden Holtby (WSH)

G Cory Schneider (NJD)

Captain: John Tavares

Head Coach: Barry Trotz (WSH)

Central Division

F Jamie Benn (DAL)

F Matt Duchene (COL)

F Patrick Kane (CHI)

F Tyler Seguin (DAL)

F Vladimir Tarasenko (STL)

F James Neal (NSH)

D Dustin Byfuglien (WPG)

D Roman Josi (NSH)

D Shea Weber (NSH)

G Devan Dubnyk (MIN)

G Pekka Rinne (NSH)

Captain: Patrick Kane

Head Coach: Lindy Ruff (DAL)

Pacific Division

F Johnny Gaudreau (CGY)

F Taylor Hall (EDM)

F Joe Pavelski (SJS)

F Corey Perry (ANA)

F John Scott (ARI *)

F Daniel Sedin (VAN)

D Brent Burns (SJS)

D Drew Doughty (LAK)

D Mark Giordano (CGY)

G John Gibson (ANA)

G Jonathan Quick (LAK)

* later traded to MTL

Captain: John Scott

Head Coach: Darryl Sutter (LAK)


  • NHL fans and country music stars Dierks Bentley, Vince Gill, Amy Grant and Chris Young are serving as celebrity coaches for the game. Bentley, Gill, Grant and Young will join Gallant, Ruff, Sutter and Trotz behind the respective benches.

  • The assignments are as follows:

    Dierks Bentley – Central Division

    Vince Gill – Metropolitan Division

    Amy Grant – Atlantic Division

    Chris Young – Pacific Division


  • The referees for today’s game are Dan O’Rourke (No. 9) and Ian Walsh (No. 29).

  • The linesmen are Jonny Murray (No. 95) and Vaughan Rody (No. 73). All four officials are making their All-Star Game debut.

Article source: http://espn.go.com/blog/nhl/post/_/id/40756/nhl-all-star-game-format

Leave a Reply