Canada Olympic Leadership Group Finalized

Steve Yzerman has not yet announced the names of the players, who will be leading the Canada team in Winter Olympics. However, he has spilled the beans about the leadership group in an interview.

According to Yzerman five players are likely to be in the group, and he mentioned players Sidney Crosby, Jonathan Toews, Drew Doughty, Shea Weber and Rick Nash. All five are the part of 2010 gold medal winning team.

According to Yzerman Rick Nash will be playing his third Olympics and his performance is outstanding in the previous years as well.

In Yzerman words – “When you look at Rick Nash, who has played on the Olympic team going back to being on the team who went to Italy [in 2006], he was an outstanding player for us in Vancouver and would be going into his third Olympics,”.

Sidney, Jonathan Toews, Drew Doughty are stepping in their second Olympics.

Yzerman said – “You look at Sidney, he’s been through a lot in his career. Jonathan has been through a lot in his career. Drew, again, for such a young guy has been through a lot. Those guys will help lead this team.”

Yzerman is planning to have a strong leader ship group led by veterans.

In Yzerman words – “It’s important to have the veteran guys that have been around,”

“They can keep the room calm and keep the bench calm, just go out on the ice and do their job. They’ve been throughout it their entire careers so there is a great importance on veteran leadership.”

Leave a Reply